top of page
Search

Water Warriors, the wagon gang that could

When was the first time you ever felt a part of something? Like something you knew you had to put your damn all into and not give up on? For me it happened quite recently. My Aunt Brenda kept talking about this amazing group called Water Warriors, and I was pumped to go out and experience it. Now to debrief what Water Warriors is: it is a group of individuals who walk through the inner city of Downtown Edmonton, wherein is probably a few of the worst locations. We hand out various donations consisting of a snack, water, clothing, and most of all we hand out damn smiles. I was intimidated at first, honestly I never thought I would be good at it. I’m shy and I get scared around people I am unsure about. When I say this, it’s not to toot my own horn but I killed it the first night out there. Surprisingly, I felt comfortable, I was having the best time handing out goodies. I had a negative outlook towards these streets of downtown, I thought it was just the rundown crime filled areas, and no place for me. But here I am, after my 5th time out and being a part of the first team I’ve ever felt a part of.

Water Warriors saved my life more than I'll ever be able to admit, because it gave me something to fight for and a community to belong to. I gave up on myself in August, I seriously felt like my life didn’t have a purpose, so why bother? But then this little wagon gang came and helped me get out of the hardest mental state I have ever been in; it showed me that my presence means something to someone, and most of all it has made me feel unconditionally loved. Now when I say this, you will never understand the experience, until you are out there. I have cried, every single time hearing stories and connecting with the team and the unhoused community. Now the positive stories stick, the ones of pure excitement when someone sees all of us coming down the street, the unhoused community rushes over to the wagons for a snack, the trucks for a coat, and we even had a lovely lady open a damn bottle of vodka for us (don’t worry no one took a sip). However, the stories that break your heart when you go home and when your head hits the pillow it’s all you can think about, one that i'll mention was a young male, honestly around my age if not the same age, experienced a drug overdose and a kitten saved his life, crazy right? Even more crazy was this man pulling a damn cat out of his coat and showed us Tazz, the aforementioned kitten. Now we all have stories that range from A to Z and I bet everyone has one that will forever have changed them. One of my favourite stories was the first time I used my voice to defend the unhoused community, some dbag decided to post a snapchat using a very ugly word to describe someone unhoused and vulnerable. I began my pursuit and got called a keyboard warrior and eventually blocked after putting him in his place. My biggest achievement so far is when I emailed the Mayor 12 times in three days, fighting for him to reply, ruthlessly about to pick a fight, he replied. I promise to continuously fight, my damn voice will not be silenced, and I can promise that.

I can’t wait to continue to make experiences with this lovely group of individuals, you all brighten our lives so much, and you especially brighten the unhoused community. Each and every single volunteer who is out there busting your ass in the cold, you are truly making a difference. Thank you Claire and Rebecca, for letting an awkward gal be a part of this group, and most of all for being two of the most amazing humans I have ever met. What you two do is incredible and I appreciate you guys more than you will ever know.Thank you for letting me be a part of this organization and I really owe all of you guys for saving my life. And Aunty, I know you're going to read this: Thank you for all you do, you are truly a superhero, the toughest person I’ve ever met, and the most generous person. I fight because you’ve shown me to never give up without a fight, and I love you.



146 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page